FZ9-Brake lines

Having ridden my new bike for a staggering 145 Km, it was time to install some new Steel braided lines.

This is a write up on how to install  steel braided lines on the cheap.  I’m not trying to take business away from the Speiglers, Galfers, and other pre-made brake line manufacturers of the world.  I have used these in the past with good success, and a small outlay of money.

Usual disclaimer.  This is written by me.  I’m a muppet, and I screw things up on a regular basis.  This is my write up, for all y’all to enjoy, and hopefully save some bucks, and have better feeling brakes.

What you need.

This is as easy as upgrades get.  You will be working with brake fluid (Derp!) so cover the tank, fender, and rim and anything that has paint.  New brake fluid is not as bad on paint as the old stuff used to be.  Better safe than sorry.

I’ve used Earl’s fittings and lines before.  They are threaded units, so no crimping or monkey business is needed.  Just measure the length, and away you go.

Here’s the stuff I used. Earl’s 36″ line (a 34″ will do too). A 20″ line, and four straight fittings. Disregard the 30 degree fittings, they are for my other bike

Parts needed for a stock set up (single line from master to left cal., single from left cal to right cal)

  • 36 or 34″ line
  • 20″ line
  • 4 straight fittings.

I took the 36″ line through the stock line path, but drilled two small holes in the actual line holder.  I wasn’t too crazy about the look of the stock line routing (below)

IMG_7892

So I ran it like so:

IMG_7952

and re-used the existing line holder, with two new holes drilled to take a tie wrap through.

IMG_7950-2

IMG_7953

Finished product below

IMG_7996 IMG_7995

Oh ya..total cost… $125

One thought on “FZ9-Brake lines

  1. We stumbled over here different web page and thought I
    might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page again.

Leave a Reply

